Self-Care / Spirituality / Wellness

Spiritual Self-Care Sunday

For many folks, including the family I was raised in, Sundays are a traditional time of rest and reflection.  I wanted to incorporate this tradition into my busy modern life by aligning my self-care and spiritual practices on Sundays.

Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a sabbath to the Lord your God. … For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.  Exodus 20:8-11

 

The Bible is filled with examples of rest and self-care:

Then, because so many people were coming and going
that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them,
“Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”
So they went away by themselves in a boat to a solitary place.
     Mark 6:31-32

But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.  ✞ Luke 5:16

Following in the example of Jesus and his apostles we must sometimes withdraw to a solitary place to eat and get some rest.  As an introvert – having quiet time to rest, reflect and pray is an important part of my self-care.  Its a long weekend, and I was invited to a few parties and cottage getaways, I’m also neglecting a site-visit for a gardening contract I should be working on.  But… I know I am getting close to burning out both physically and mentally, so in the spirit of self-care I set some boundaries and declined the invitations and obligations in favour of a few days of quiet and calm.

Have you ever heard the saying “you can’t pour from an empty cup?”  If you don’t occasionally pause to refill your own vessel, it becomes harder and harder to give to others.  I was getting into the danger near-empty zone, and humans don’t have a empty tank light to warn when we are running out of gas!  I spent time this weekend trying out a new way to experience scripture, Lectio Divina – reading, reflecting, responding and resting with the words in a slow, meditative, purposeful way.  This form of restful prayer has recharged my batteries for another long labour-filled week ahead!

 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart,
and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
✞ Matthew 11:28-30

✞ The Lord will guide you always;
    he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
    and will strengthen your frame.
✞ You will be like a well-watered garden,
    like a spring whose waters never fail.
                                     ✞ Isaiah 58:11

+ Read More +
Spiritual Self-Care Resources:
Our Daily Bread: Self Care
3 Examples of Self Care in the Bible
What God Says About Self Care
What Does The Bible Say About Rest and Self-Care
Powerful Prayers for Peace and Rest
You Can’t Pour From an Empty Cup
Taking Prayer Seriously

 

For I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength. {Philippians 4:13}

Lord, it feels like there’s so much to accomplish each day, and sometimes it’s hard to rest. I’m afraid I won’t get it all done. I’m afraid I will fail. Yet you promise to strengthen me. You are the mighty God! Help me to focus on what you can do, not what I cannot. Empower and encourage me. Give me the lasting strength only you can give. Replenish me so I can live life better and stronger. In Jesus’ name. Amen.  –Today’s Christian Woman

Dear Lord, refresh my spirit today.
Help me to bring balance to my life,
as I juggle my responsibilities.
Thank You for Your love and care.
Our Daily Bread

 



What I’m reading next:
Why Anglicans Should Pray The Rosary
Curiosity Is An Act of Worship



Leave a Reply

