Adventure Sports / Explore

Travel Tuesday: Blue Mountain Ski Resort

Once a year, sometime just before or after Christmas as the snow dictates, I have had the real privilege of going skiing with my family: Dad, brother, and this year soon-to-be-sister-in-law!  Some years we’ve gone west to Sun Peaks or Fernie – BC; other years we’ve headed east to Mont Tremblant, Le Massif, Sutton – QC; and we’ve been south to Killington & Pico Mountain – VT.  After my brother and I moved out, scheduling time that everyone was free became an issue and budgets got tighter.  So this year we stayed close to home, visiting Blue Mountain in nearby Collingwood, ON for a daytrip, just a 2 hr drive from my parents’ Burlington home.

ski Collage 2All the fluffy snow we’ve been having that I hate digging out of my driveway… does make for great powder conditions!  It snowed on an off throughout the last few days and I always aim to be one of the first off the chairlifts so I got some great first tracks down  Tranquility and Memory Lane before heading over to my favourite runs Kandahar and Schuss at the Toronto Ski Club end of the resort, runs I remember from my racing days…
I ran my first Super-G races on Rabbit’s Run at the Gooch Cup!
ski collage 1In the afternoon I took some cruising runs on Happy Valley with my brother and his fiancee after they completed their morning lessons on Graduate.  They got tired early, and joined my mum, skating on the Mill Pond while my Dad and I carved out big gentle turns for the rest of the day, him gently chiding my technique, on Dr. Doug, Cruiser/Sunrise and Waterfall.  After dumping skiis and boots in the car we stretched our legs with a walk around the resort village, which now really reminds me of Tremblant.
My parents headed home early in one car – but the lessons my brother and his fiancee took came with a ‘Hot Deal’ so we headed to the Plunge! Aquatic Center to swim in the four season hot-tubs and pools for $5!  My body is paying the price for only skiing once a year or so… but a good hot soak and stretch is helping some of the aches and pains.  An indulgent end to a lovely family daycation!
edit4

Leave a Reply

