Outlaw / Poetry

Why I Write

Sometimes our poems become more than just the words within and start to embody the context of the support we felt to write them, the people that first read them or where we first performed them, the audiences that resonate with them, the wider unspoken truths that exist around them. My poetry has taken on a life of its own, an existence encircled by community. This weekend, I once again found myself among so many eloquent poets from all across the country, and was reminded with blinding clarity of the reasons why I write.

I have shifted from living and writing as separate parts of my life.
Now – I live to write; I write to live; I live my writing; I write my life.

#whyiwrite

Leave a Reply

