Green Living / Recipes

My Grandmother’s Fruit Relish

My grandmother passed away about a year ago, early September.  While I was devastated at the time, and miss her terribly still, it was a fact of life I’ve just had to come to terms with.  I was blessed to have 3 of my 4 grandparents with me until my  20s, and all passed quickly and peacefully.  Now I celebrate my grandparents life by actively surrounding myself with time worn objects I’ve inherited, and lessons I learned from them.

Of all my grandparents I was closest to my grandmother, Marie.  I don’t remember her being a huge cook, and yet her kitchen / veranda was such a dear place to me.  One time worn object I’ve inherited from her was a spidery-handwritten recipe box.  I feel a huge amount of satisfaction when I make her recipes, the comfort food she passed on to my own parents, that I have always turned to for relief.  We have one top-secret! family recipe for green tomato relish that I won’t be posting on this blog ; ) but I also really enjoy this warm, summery fruit relish and wanted to share it with you.  I managed to find a few late, lingering peaches but this recipe would probably fare better if made earlier in the summer.

I was tempted to just upload high resolution scans and make y’all decipher the handwriting if you wanted to make the recipe, just like I had to!  But I had the help of a lovely farm woman at the market who was used to reading her mother’s recipes, written in the same era of script.  Soooo I thought I would save you the trouble ; )

.
.
Ingredients:
5 peeled peaches
3 peeled pears
1 large onion
12 ripe skinned tomatoes
6 stalks of celery
1 hot red pepper
1 sweet red pepper
1 sweet green pepper
1 tbsp mixed pickling spices
2 1/2 cups white sugar
1 cup white vinegar
1 tbsp salt


recipe, exactly as written: cut all fruit, small pieces.  tie spices in bag. add with sugar, salt, vinegar and hot pepper. Simmer low 2 1/2 (3?) hours until thickened. by 1/2. Remove hot pepper and spices before bottling.  {family name, 1985} Reduces in quantity to approx half

2 thoughts on “My Grandmother’s Fruit Relish

Leave a Reply

